The World According To von Roy
The Word | Te Kupu
The Word KUPU #16 - Leeza Fremont
0:00
-1:23:36

The Word KUPU #16 - Leeza Fremont

Discussing life, writing and philosophy with one of New York City's finest scribes

It was such a delight talking to Leeza in this capacity. Leeza is an incredible writer, polemicist and interpreter of culture and society. I have known her for nearly two decades and can proudly call her one of my closest friends and allies. She has helped me out a lot over the years with her incredible empathy and knowledge about the human condition. 

Leeza hails from New York City and writes a Substack called You will Hate Me, it is a collection of her observations on society, politics, culture and more captured as palatable essays and articles that will entertain you to no end. Along with being one of the most talented writers I know, Leeza is also the funniest person I have ever talked to. She is a female Larry David no doubt, utterly fearless in her perceptions of society, people at large and equally eloquent in her poignant observations of these.

In this podcast she talks very candidly about her own health and in particular being in need of a kidney transplant due to her PKD (polycystic kidney disease) condition and being diagnosed with ADHD on top of this. Her struggle of coming to terms with these new realities is as moving as it is inspirational. A real human of substance. And find out why Donald Trump and Richard Nixon were incredible allies of people in need of kidney transplants. There’s something about impeachment and failing renal glands that really gels together.

Hers has been a tumultuous life which has given her the ability to understand, grasp people at their most fundamental level. Her writing is poignant yet subtle in its description of the frailty of the human spirit as well as its tenacity. We also discuss her love of Israel and what makes that country a stalwart of human culture and innovation. 

Her magnum opus is the book Narrishkeit which she has been working on for a while and will be an absolute smash hit as I can attest to as having read some of the previous versions she has allowed me access to. 

Leeza is very much a writer on the rise and I am so glad to have caught her on this trajectory. I can’t wait to have her on again, as she makes such a great conversation partner. 

Leeza can be found on Twitter as @leeza_fremont and on Instagram as @leezafremont. 


See you later 2021, it’s been errr.. okay I guess?

So this will be my last podcast for 2021, I have one more podcast to record tomorrow, but until next year - which is literally 3 days away - I wish you all the best and enjoy the festivities if you have any planned or just relax your way into 2022, which is how I do it. 

Also, if you’re feeling generous and would like to support me with some funds, you can make a Paypal donation (or simply send the Paypal funds to chrisvonroy@gmail.com) then I would be super duper grateful. You can also support me on Patreon

Subscribing to this newsletter will cost you just $5 a month, the upside of a subscription is not much, as I have vowed to make all of my posts free here, but you would earn that extra special spot in my heart, which I know you want to occupy. So go ahead and do it, you know you want to. You may even get a sporadic love poem from me to top off the second most bizarre year we have lived through, 2021. Bring on the next year, who knows maybe aliens will finally arrive on Earth?  

“To practice five things under all circumstances constitutes perfect virtue; these five are gravity, generosity of soul, sincerity, earnestness, and kindness.”

Confucius

0 Comments
The World According To von Roy
The Word | Te Kupu
A podcast about science, psychology, politics, philosophy and things to make you think. 21st century approved parlance... recorded in New Zealand with guests from all over the world.